2016 Dream Award Recipients

Meet the 2016 Class of Scholarship America Dream Award Recipients!


  • Tiffany Avalos-Lopez, Houston Baptist University
    Sophomore Biochemistry-Molecular Biology Major
  • Selina Ayres, Western Washington University
    Junior Human Services Major
  • Cecilia Cardozo, University of Utah
    Junior Speech and Hearing Science Major
  • Amanda Condon, Arkansas Tech University
    Sophomore Emergency Management Major
  • Alexis Ho Liu, Syracuse University
    Sophomore Information Technology Major
  • Felix Ricarte, University of California, Irvine
    Sophomore Mathematics Major
  • Giovanni Rosas Escobedo, El Centro College
    Sophomore Biomedical Engineering Major
  • Kylie Lan Tumiatti, Seton Hall University
    Sophomore Diplomacy & International Relations Major*

*Kylie Lan Tumiatti is the third recipient of the Dream Award World Journal Award for Chinese American Students, presented by the World Journal.

The Dream Award is Scholarship America’s renewable scholarship program for financially needy students who have overcome barriers and have successfully started their college education. Awards were made to students selected from across the nation who are entering their second year or higher of education beyond high school; the scholarships are both renewable and increase in amount each year. Scholarship America provides Dream Awards ranging from $5,000 to $15,000 based on the individual student’s financial need. Each student’s award will increase by $1,000 each year to help them successfully finish school and earn their degrees.

Our thanks to the 2016 Dream Award Selection Committee, a group of education professionals who carefully evaluated applications to determine this year’s class of awardees. The committee members were: Muriel A. Howard, President, American Association of State Colleges and Universities; Martha J. Kanter, Distinguished Visiting Professor/Senior Fellow, New York University; Tina Lee, Managing Director, World Journal, Donor and former Scholarship America Trustee; and Eloy Oakley, President and Superintendent-President, Long Beach City College.

The 2016 Dream Award Class was introduced at the Scholarship America Dreams to Degrees event May 25, in Washington, D.C.