The Dreams to Success National Education Dinner & Awards Celebration is the centerpiece of Scholarship America’s Dreams to Success Day—dedicated to both celebrating and supporting America’s best students. On May 22, 2018, we gathered to celebrate these remarkable individuals and organizations. See the photos from the event on Scholarship America’s Flickr page.

2018 Scholarship America Honors 

Scholarship America is proud to present the 2018 Scholarship America Honors to Senator George J. MitchellGenentech and the GE Foundation.

Senator George J. Mitchell

United States Senator, Maine – 1980-1995
Senate Majority Leader – 1989-1995
Founder, The Mitchell Institute

The George J. Mitchell Scholarship Institute has awarded more than 2,500 scholarships totaling over $14,500,000 to a graduating student from each of Maine’s 130 public high schools.  Recipients receive more than a check: the Mitchell Institute also offers a wide array of personal, academic and professional support programs.

Futurelab: Genentech’s STEM Education Program

Futurelab is Genentech’s STEM education initiative that supports all K-12 students in the South San Francisco Unified School District and gets them excited to learn about science, improves their college readiness and inspires them to pursue careers in STEM fields. Futurelab Scholarships motivate these students to dream big, and include four-year awards of $50,000 per year to two exceptional seniors each year.

GE Foundation

For more than 100 years, GE has supported efforts to create a high-quality education pipeline for students around the world. Through its signature education and skills initiatives – Developing Futures™ and Developing Skills™ – the GE Foundation seeks to empower 14-24-year-old students by providing access to learning experiences necessary for the workforce of tomorrow. In addition, the GE-Reagan Foundation Scholarship Program and new GE-JFK Library Scholarship Program reward college-bound students who demonstrate exemplary leadership, drive, integrity, and citizenship.

Celebrating the 2017 and 2018 Dream Award Scholars

In addition to the Scholarship America Honors, we paid tribute to the remarkable students of Scholarship America’s 2017 and 2018 Dream Award Scholarship classes.

These Ten Students Earned Scholarship America Dream Awards

The 2017 Dream Award Scholarship recipients (pictured above) were announced at last year’s Dreams to Success event, and joined us in person in 2018 for the Student Success Day and Awards Dinner. They are: Umesh Bhandari, University of Texas at Arlington; Mikayla Bridgewater, Missouri University of Science & Technology; Yessenia Cantero Hernandez, Northern Kentucky University; April Lewis, Spelman College; Shun Lin, University of California – Berkeley; Arial Martinez, South Mountain Community College; Jorge Morales, San Francisco State University; Ezekiel Ogden, Northern Arizona University; Tiara Wills, Pratt Institute and Shanell Yenchik, Northern Arizona University.

(Throughout the year, we have been sharing their amazing stories on our Success By Degrees blog. Click any linked name to learn more!)

We also welcomed the 2018 Dream Award Scholarship recipients: Jacoby Barry, Mercer University; Denis Cruz, Texas A&M University-Commerce; Yifan He, Dartmouth College; Chantel N. Lewis-Cummings, University of Georgia; Jaquaious Little, University of Alabama; Jamisen K. Moore, University of North Carolina at Greensboro; Miguel A. Aguirre Morales, Wabash College; Rachel Muir, Dartmouth College; Cynthia Namaswa, Lebanon, CT; Christian E. Urrea, University of Houston; Jacqueline Vela, East Los Angeles College; and Donja Wilkinson, Georgia State University. See the 2018 Dream Award announcement to learn more.