Featured Partner Scholarships: December 2021 - Scholarship America

Resources Our Blog

From thought leadership to incredible stories of student success, this is where you can get informed or get inspired about scholarships and the educational journey.

Featured Partner Scholarships: December 2021

By Matt Konrad

The holiday season is upon us! For students, it’s a welcome break from the school year—and it’s also a great time to sit back, collect your thoughts and apply for some scholarships. To help you get started, our featured partner programs this month include a prestigious $40,000 national program, and specific scholarships for families who have faced cancer and Black students breaking barriers.

Check them out below, and visit our Browse Scholarships page to see all the scholarships that are open now (and opening soon)!

GE-Reagan Foundation Scholarship

The GE-Reagan Foundation Scholarship Program offers $10,000 scholarships to outstanding high school seniors—and awards are renewable up to three subsequent years, for a potential total of up to $40,000 each.  

This national program, recognized by Forbes and U.S. News and World Report as a premier award for students, is open to current high school seniors who exemplify the qualities of leadership, drive, integrity, and citizenship. A tribute to the character and values of our nation’s 40th President, the GE-Reagan Foundation Scholarship has committed nearly $8 million to 195 students since its inception. 

Like President Reagan, candidates use the formative experiences of their youth to lead, serve, and pursue a life of purpose and significance, both individually and for their communities. Awards are for full-time undergraduate study at an accredited four-year college or university in the United States and may be used for education-related expenses, including tuition, fees, books, supplies, room, and board. In addition, Scholars are invited to participate in a special awards program and receive ongoing leadership-development support in college and beyond. Follow the program on Facebook for updates.  

Applications are open until January 6. Apply Now 

Northwestern Mutual Childhood Cancer Survivor Scholarship 
Northwestern Mutual Childhood Cancer Sibling Scholarship

The Northwestern Mutual Childhood Cancer Survivor Scholarship program helps cancer survivors, age 25 and under, as they continue their education and pursue their college dreams. To date, Northwestern Mutual has provided nearly $1 million in scholarship support to more than 110 students on their college journeys. 

“Families impacted by childhood cancer are facing even greater financial and emotional challenges due to the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Eric Christophersen, president, Northwestern Mutual Foundation. “We believe these factors shouldn’t stand in the way of college dreams. Now, more than ever, Northwestern Mutual is proud to support students who have overcome childhood cancer challenges as they pursue higher education.” 

The scholarship program will award renewable $5,000 scholarships to as many as 25 eligible recipients for the 2022-23 school year. High school seniors, high school graduates and current college undergrads can apply, as long as you plan to enroll in full-time undergraduate study next year (at a two-year college, four-year college or university or accredited trade/technical school.) Applicants must be survivors of cancer, 25 years old or younger, have a minimum grade point average of 2.5 on a 4.0 scale and demonstrate financial need.  

Applications for the Northwestern Mutual Childhood Cancer Survivor Scholarship are open until February 2, 2022. Apply now  

In addition, Northwestern Mutual knows childhood cancer doesn’t just affect the patient. The impact is life-altering for everyone in the family – especially brothers and sisters who are in school or away at college. 

The Northwestern Mutual Childhood Cancer Sibling Scholarship program was established to help those who’ve had a sibling go through pediatric cancer. If you’re the brother or sister of someone who is in treatment, who has survived or who passed away from childhood cancer, you’re eligible to apply for one of 25 renewable $5,000 scholarships. 

As with the Northwestern Mutual Childhood Cancer Survivor Scholarship, applicants can be high school seniors, high school graduates or current college students. You must be 25 years old or younger, have a minimum grade point average of 2.5 on a 4.0 scale and demonstrate financial need – and you must plan to attend full-time undergraduate study during the next school year. 

Applications for the Northwestern Mutual Childhood Cancer Sibling Scholarship are open until February 2, 2022. Apply now 

Both of these programs require applicants to prepare a statement about how cancer has impacted their lives and taught them courage and resilience. We know this might be the last thing you want to spend time thinking about during the holiday season, but your friends and family can help you tell your story and work toward a bright future! 

ScottMadden Inspire Scholarship  

ScottMadden, one of North America’s leading management consulting firms specializing in energy and shared services, is once again proud to offer the renewable $10,000 ScottMadden Inspire Scholarship. This scholarship is designed to support the college dreams of Black students in ScottMadden’s hometown communities of Atlanta, Boston and the North Carolina Research Triangle (Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill).   

“We are thrilled to continue offering the Inspire Scholarship. Our firm is committed to maintaining an inclusive environment that builds respect and trust, and we are confident that this scholarship will further our efforts and plant the seeds for the future success of the recipients,” says Brad Kitchens, president and CEO at ScottMadden. 

To apply, you must be a current resident of one of the three eligible metro areas, and a college sophomore or above. Eligible students must identify as Black or African American and be planning to enroll full-time for the next academic year in an eligible major including accounting, business administration, computer and information sciences and support services, engineering, finance, logistics, and supply chain management, and certain similar or related fields. 

Awards can be renewed for a second year if you continue to meet renewal criteria; visit the application page for more details about eligibility and qualifications. 

Applications are open until January 14. Apply now