Scholarship America's Dream Award provides scholarships for college upperclassmen

Support the Scholarship

Fundraising to support Scholarship America’s Dream Award was spurred by an initial donation of $350,000 from Katie Couric in 2011. We thank her and the current Dream Award donors who have helped Scholarship America make this scholarship program a reality.

Join them in making a difference for deserving students by donating to the Dream Award today!

Donate Now

Details and Criteria

Scholarship awards are between $5,000 and $15,000 annually, growing by $1,000 each year until graduation. Eligible students must have graduated from high school and already be enrolled in a postsecondary degree or certificate program. Applicants must have a cumulative 3.0+ GPA and demonstrate financial need.

Applications for the 2015-16 award will open again in October 2014; contact information for program questions can be found on the About The Award page.Click "Learn More" for detailed award criteria!

Learn More

What is the Dream Award?

Scholarship America’s Dream Award is our newest multi-year, performance-based scholarship fund targeted toward completion. Awards will be given to students selected from across the nation who are entering their second year or higher of education beyond high school; the scholarships will be renewable and growing in amount each year.

"We need to make sure our scholarships see students through to graduation, instead of just supporting them their first year," says Scholarship America President & CEO Lauren Segal. "It is a real tragedy for students, parents, donors and institutions when students drop out before they can complete their degree."

Find out more here.

The Selection Committee

Five highly -respected education professionals joined Scholarship America’s President & CEO, Lauren Segal, to select the inaugural recipients of the Scholarship America Dream Award. They include:
Muriel A. Howard, President, American Association of State Colleges and Universities; Martha J. Kanter,
Former Under Secretary, U.S. Department of Education; Tina Lee, Executive Vice President, World Journal; Richard Montañez, Executive Vice President, PepsiCo North America and Eloy Ortiz Oakley, Superintendent-President, Long Beach City College.

Learn More