Scholarship America's Dream Award provides scholarships for college upperclassmen

Support the Dream Award

Fundraising to support Scholarship America’s Dream Award was spurred by an initial donation of $350,000 from Katie Couric in 2011.

We thank her and the current Dream Award donors who have helped Scholarship America make this scholarship program a reality.

Join them in making a difference for deserving students by donating to the Dream Award today!

Donate Now

About The Award

Scholarship America’s Dream Award is a renewable scholarship fund targeted toward completion. Awards are given to students who are entering their second year or higher of education beyond high school; the scholarships will grow in amount each year.

"We need to make sure our scholarships see students through to graduation, instead of just supporting them their first year," says Scholarship America President & CEO Lauren Segal. "It is a tragedy for everyone when students drop out before they can complete their degree."

Learn More

Meet The First Recipients!

In its first year, the Scholarship America Dream Award is providing more than $150,000 in renewable scholarships to 12 remarkable recipients.

We were thrilled to be able to introduce the first class of Dream Award recipients on Katie Couric’s show, and we congratulate each of them: Sarah Ashcraft, Ball State; Mirrella Bautista, University of La Verne; Ryan Bosela, Pittsburgh Technical Institute; Emelin Garcia Niego, Columbia (SC) College; Charlene Hinton, Syracuse; Luis Loza, Northern Kentucky; Hector Najarro, Georgia Tech; Lucy Tang, Cal-Berkeley; Rodrigo Telles, Cal-Berkeley; Shelby Wilson, Mississippi State; Janelle Wiser, University of Findlay; Takashi Yanagi, Notre Dame.

Read their amazing stories here.

The Selection Committee

Five highly -respected education professionals joined Scholarship America’s President & CEO, Lauren Segal, to select the inaugural recipients of the Scholarship America Dream Award. They include:
Muriel A. Howard, President, American Association of State Colleges and Universities; Martha J. Kanter,
Former Under Secretary, U.S. Department of Education; Tina Lee, Managing Director, World Journal; Richard Montañez, Executive Vice President, PepsiCo North America and Eloy Ortiz Oakley, Superintendent-President, Long Beach City College.

Learn More