Anne L. Cheney, Vice President, Finance

Anne L. CheneyAnne Cheney joined Scholarship America in April 2002.  Her experience includes seven years of auditing not-for-profit organizations, first with Arthur Andersen & Co., and more recently at KPMG LLP; and over 15 years running the financial operations of the Minnesota Orchestral Association and the University of Minnesota Foundation.

A former adjunct faculty member at the University of St. Thomas’ Center for Nonprofit Management, Anne has been a leader in the not-for-profit accounting profession where she was a founding member of the Nonprofit Financial Group, a past chair of the Minnesota Society of CPAs' annual Not-For-Profit Organizations Conference, as well as volunteer on the Minneapolis United Way’s Financial Management Task Force and the St. Paul United Way’s ad hoc Financial Capacity Task Force.  Currently Anne serves on the boards of the Kenwood Symphony Orchestra and the St. Peter United Way (Treasurer).

Anne received a bachelor’s degree in economics from Carleton College and an MBA in accounting from the University of Michigan, and she is a Certified Public Accountant (inactive).

The Dream Award

Dream Award Scholarship America’s Dream Award is a renewable scholarship fund targeted toward completion. These annually-increasing awards will be given to students selected from across the nation who are entering their second year of education beyond high school.

The Scholarship Coach

The Scholarship CoachScholarship America's blog, The Scholarship Coach, appears weekly at, featuring expert advice on all kinds of scholarship issues. Here on the site, we feature a new highlight from the blog every week, and you can also download a free Scholarship Coach e-book!

Focus On The Finish Line

Scholarship America is dedicated to helping students get their degrees. Our 2013 Annual Report, Focus on the Finish Line, features statistics, stories, and student accounts of the importance of college completion.


Visit the online report to learn more and hear from our President, Lauren Segal.

Become a Volunteer